gen321

In the beginning, God created………..FASHION!

All That Glitters…………………. November 8, 2010

Filed under: Trends,Uncategorized — gen321 @ 1:38 PM
Tags:

One of the biggest fashion trends recently, is sequins;  glittering, shiny, sparkling sequins.  I for one, LOVE it!  Going hand in hand with fur and skins (real and faux), sequins have a way of making you feel glamorous.  I recently ordered some sequin tanks from Roamans and they shot me an email this weekend to let me know my order was on the way.  *side note-sequins are so popular this winter, that these inexpensive tanks were on backorder.*

I can not wait to twinkle in them, with pleather jeggings, my asymetric tutu skirt from ASOS, or with a nice leather skirt (oh, I got plans for these tops).  I am hoping to add some more sparkle to my wardrobe, but my biggest shopping rule is, IF IT IS TRENDY, BUY IT CHEAP!  So, I have been scouring sites like Faith21, Alloy, ASOS, and stores like Macy’s, Rainbow, DOTS, and Lane Bryant for inexspensive sequined pieces.

As I stated above, I got the two sequined tanks from Roamans for a low price, they amounted to about $25 with shipping.  I never pay full price for items that are not classic.  I can’t afford it.   I recommend everyone pick up a sequined piece for winter.  I guarantee you will feel like a fashionista.  Take a look at some of the examples below of how you can add a little sparkle and shine to your wardrobe and tell me what you think.

Black Glitter Wedges by NINA

Escher

Black Glitter Open Toes by NINE WEST

Purple Sequined Mini-ASOS Black Sequined Blazer-FREE PEOPLE

Black Sequined Shirt-CALVIN KLEIN

Sequined Tank Dresses-JUICY COUTURE

Red Sequined Shoulder Bag-COACH

See full size image

Robert Rose Bangle-MACY'S

                                                                                                              

 

16 Responses to “All That Glitters………………….”

  1. Michael Says:

    For real…I want to read about something for the men. Can you work on that..

  2. NishNish Says:

    The nine west pumps are hott! fancy huh lol

    • gen321 Says:

      Yes, they are! They have them at Macy’s, dirt cheap. Perfect for all the church events you will have to attend as the wife of a minister. *wink, wink*

  3. Katie Says:

    I just bought a shirt with sequins. When I where I feel so fabulous. 🙂

  4. Debra Lewis Says:

    Okay, Fur and sequins. Got it!! Now can you give us fat girls some how to advice. Cause here in Tennessee I see some real fashion don’ts. For instance should we or should we not tuck our shirts in? Please respond.
    And, can you research fat girl stores here in Tennessee besides the Walmart.

  5. Debra Lewis Says:

    YES

  6. Debra Lewis Says:

    A NOTE TO THE FAT GIRLS OUT THERE. DON’T SEND ME ANY ANGRY MAIL. I AM ONLY ASKING FOR MYSELF CAUSE I KNOW MYSELF .

  7. patricia thomas Says:

    i have sequins and it does make you feel extra special. you find yourself walking with a certain swag that has people looking admirably at you!! it’s a good thing. and size does not matter it’s how you carry yourself!! thanks for encouraging us to do sequins!!

    • gen321 Says:

      True that! I have been a little hesitant to do the sequin skirt, but they have a great one at the Avenue that I really want to try out. If I get it I will post. (thinking of wearing it with velvet, we’ll see)

  8. Sheri Says:

    I bought a few sequined tanks from Express last year. It’s good to know that I can get another year outta them! *as if I weren’t going to wear them anyway, I’m a grandma!!!! LOL

    • gen321 Says:

      Yeah, you gotta another season out of them. Pack them away this spring and in two or three years you can pull them out because they will be in style, AGAIN!

  9. marsha Says:

    Ok I actually have been liking the sequins. How can I keep sequins from falling off?

    • gen321 Says:

      Are they sequins or glitter? I had a problem with a sleeveless cardi I bought this summer, that had a glittery applique. Everytime I wore it, I left a trail of sparkles. I don’t know if there is anything you can do about that. If it is sequins, try not to wear it with something very rough in texture, hand wash the item, and/or spend more money on your items. LOL!

  10. […] All That Glitters…………………. (gen321.wordpress.com) […]


Leave a Reply

