gen321

In the beginning, God created………..FASHION!

Come thru in the clutch!! February 23, 2012

I just love the clutch handbag!

I have always really loved the clutch style handbag.  It can be dainty and demure, sophisticated and glamorous, or hip and trendy.  My mother and grandmother carried clutch handbags and always liked how they just made a woman look mature and confident, like “I don’t care if this thing can just be snatched from under my arm!  It only contains a few singles and my lipstick, anyway!”
The clutch has returned to popularity in recent years and I have found myself accumulating quite a few.  Now, I don’t carry them often because I usually like to have a full arsenal of makeup and hair tools when I leave the house for work, church, shopping, or the post office.  You just don’t know who you might see, meet, or die in the arms of, so I like to be fully prepared.  I usually carry a clutch when I am going out; going out with friends, going out on a date, or going to a formal or semi-formal event.
At any rate, I have picked up a few new (or new to me) clutch handbags in recent weeks and I plan to incorporate them in some outfits in near future.  Two of the clutch handbags I picked up during the FashDet Thrift Store Crawl last month.
The peachy clutch, I would love to carry with some of the really pretty pastel items that are so hot for sping.  I imagine it with very light, mint green skinny jeans and the wispiest of cream, white, or light blue tops. *le sigh*  The black clutch I can carry with just about anything, anywhere, anytime.  The length of it just gives me a thrill, because it conjures up images of Joan Crawford.

Peach 80"s style clutch-Thrifted

Black suede like 40's style clutch-Thrifted I love that this clutch is xtra long!

Faux snake print clutch-Ashley Steward

The next two clutch handbags I caught on a humble.  I was running my little weekend errands and one of my stops was Ashley Stewart to pick up tights.  Well, they were all out of tights (apparently, they have stopped shipping them to the stores because spring is coming) but as I was walking out of the store, this red clutch caught my eye on a rack that said 50% off. I sashayed my Shonte’ up to the counter, to see if the half off price was $16 or was it half off of $16.  Beep, beep goes the scanner and I walk out of Ashley Stewart disappointed about the tights but happy over my $8 clutch.

Ain't God good?!!! I found it in blue!!!

Well, I continued to run errands and later in the day I had to go to a meeting at my church.  Now when I get to the church, no one has arrived yet so….still on a mission to get tights, I go to the Ashley Stewart near my church.  I walk in, tights display empty except for two pairs of 2x fishnets that looked like someone had taken a fork to them.  Lo and behold, though!!! What should I spy with my two brown eyes, a lone, blue faux snakeskin clutch like the one I had purchased earlier in the day.

So, I have managed to pick up four really nice (in my opinion) clutch purses for under $30 bucks.  I think I did good *pats self on back*.  I have decided to spend less on clothing, shop less, etc. and do more giving in 2012, and I feel like thrifting and purchasing item on deep, deep clearance will help me to do that.  *I was honest with God!  I won’t vow to stop shopping, but I will spend less, shop less, and buy more used stuff.*
Well, what do you think of my clutch handbags?  Do you carry clutch bags?  Let me know.
Conjuring up outfit ideas right now with my new handbags so I can……..come through in the clutch.  *I so clever! LOL*
TTYL!
 

6 Responses to “Come thru in the clutch!!”

  1. Yes! Yes! And Yes!!! Can’t live without a clutch in my life. Like you it’s my go to piece when I’m going out with friends, on the town and things like that. I keep accumulating them as well. Like, I can’t get enough. I’m liking the ones you’ve shown here as well 🙂
    Dee
    cheapfabmom

  2. Timmi Says:

    I carry large backs all day everyday! I do have one clutch that is my moms which has made me switch up a little. I have been on the hunt for a black leather clutch. You did a great job and you definitely are my kind of shopper. It does feel great when you get great finds for next to nothing.

  3. grifties Says:

    Great post! Clutches are so fabulous! My current fave (if you can pony up the cash to afford one) is from Edie Parker. Beautiful purses that are part clutch, part art. I loved it so much I blogged about it here:

    http://grifties.com/2012/02/29/great-gift-idea-of-the-day-69/

    Enjoy!

    • gen321 Says:

      WOW!! I love the clutch on your post! I will have to check out the collection, the next time I am in Chicago. Thanks for stopping by my blog! xoxoxoxoxo


Leave a Reply

